Second Life

Last night I completed Lesson 6: Immersive Environments – Second Life. And I have to admit, it was a little confusing and tough to figure out.  I got flustered that I had difficulty because I’m a gadget girl and I love technology. I’m also a “gamer” of sorts (okay, I play a MUD – a text-based game).

SL is not very intuitive or user-friendly. I can’t imagine how difficult it would be for someone who isn’t a techie at all. Though perhaps someone who hasn’t been “tainted” by other technology would pick it up faster because they would not have the many preconceived notions and expectations that I did.

I completed the Library furnishing prototype quest. At least, it was called something like that. The point of it was to find a particular object to sit on, and it would give you a keyword to enter in your assignment to prove that you had completed it. The directions were vague at best. I’m paraphrasing here, but it was along the lines of “Log into Second Life and navigate to this place and sit on things.”

So I did the only thing I could think of – I wandered around and sat on everything that looked like I could sit on it. After about 10 minutes and 20 seats later, I finally sat on something that talked to me and gave me a keyword.

Hopefully, with more use, this virtual world will become less counter-intuitive and I’ll feel more comfortable using this tool.

Especially since I hate being uncomfortable with technology.

Posted on August 6, 2010, in LIBR 203, SLIS, Technology. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I didn’t find wandering around Second Life that interesting. I quickly found the couch, but that was about it. Yes, I looked at the items that were there, but I’m not much of a gaming person. I guess I’m the type that prefers blogs and chats to pictures and wandering around.

Leave a Reply

